राष्ट्रीय संचार सुरक्षा केंद्र
National Centre for Communication Security
दूरसंचार विभाग
Department of Telecommunications
संचार मंत्रालय
Ministry of Communications
भारत सरकार
Government of India
Home Divisions ITSARs TSTLs Certified Equip Directory Downloads Vacancies Gallery

What is New ?

  • The guidelines for payment for Designation of TSTL and Application Form Checklist for TSTLs is published

  • The stakeholder consultations on Draft ITSAR of 5G-UPF will be held on 29-Jun-2022

  • Roadmap for Financial Year 2022-23 for TSTL Designation is published

  • Roadmap for Financial Year 2022-23 for Security Certification is published

  • Last date for receipt of applications for Research Associates as per 'NCCS Research Associate Scheme' is extended till 10-Jul-2022

  • Corrigendum to Notification for Engagement of Research Associate as per 'NCCS Research Associate Scheme' is published on 10-May-2022

  • Draft ITSAR for Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) of 5G Published on 06-May-2022

  • Notification for Engagement of Research Associate as per 'NCCS Research Associate Scheme'

  • Important Links

  • Dept of Telecom
  • Telecom Engineering Centre
  • MTCTE Portal
  • TRAI
  • ITU
  • About NCCS

    The Indian Telegraph (Amendment) Rules, 2017, provides that every telecom equipment must undergo mandatory testing and certification prior to sale, import or use in India. As per mandate of Department of Telecommunications, the Procedure for Mandatory Testing and Certification of Telecommunication Equipment (MTCTE) was formulated in October 2018. The Testing and Certification framework requires that the telecom equipment meets the essential requirements under (a)EMI/EMC (b)Safety (c)Technical requirements (d)other requirements and (e)Security requirements. The testing is carried out with the objective of ensuring that the equipment meets relevant national and international standards such that it is safe to use, the radio frequency emissions from it are within prescribed limits, it does not degrade the performance of the network to which it is connected and complies with national security requirements. The MTCTE scheme was launched on 01/10/2019 for some telecom network elements for certification of telecom equipment against Essential Requirements(ERs). DoT envisages to implement the mandatory testing and certification in respect of Security Requirements through a Scheme titled ‘Communication Security Certification Scheme’ (ComSeC).

    National Centre for Communication Security (NCCS) - a Centre under Department of Telecommunications (DoT) – shall be responsible for implementation of this scheme. Government of India has established Security Assurance Standards Facility, covering an area of about 11,500sq.ft at Bangalore with an investment of about Rs.17 Crore for infrastructure including Laboratory, IT, IBS and climate control and another about Rs.8.5 Crore for testing tools to facilitate development of security standards and to function as a referral laboratory. The facility was inaugurated by Hon'ble Minister of Communications Sri. Manoj Sinha on 15th November 2018.

    The Scheme

    The ComSec Scheme is managed by the Scheme Controller. NCCS aims to meet the following objectives in operating and maintaining the ComSec scheme: Scheme mainly comprises of three major activities: Scope of Security Certification: